
 

 

RULES QUESTIONS & CLARIFICATIONS 
 

Q: Q: Q: Q: How do submarine Special How do submarine Special How do submarine Special How do submarine Special AbilitiesAbilitiesAbilitiesAbilities    ––––    ““““First Shot AttackFirst Shot AttackFirst Shot AttackFirst Shot Attack    or Surprise Strike” and or Surprise Strike” and or Surprise Strike” and or Surprise Strike” and 
“Submersible” “Submersible” “Submersible” “Submersible” ––––    work?work?work?work?        HowHowHowHow    does the presence of enemy destroyers affect these abilities? does the presence of enemy destroyers affect these abilities? does the presence of enemy destroyers affect these abilities? does the presence of enemy destroyers affect these abilities?         
(These rules apply for Subs in(These rules apply for Subs in(These rules apply for Subs in(These rules apply for Subs in    allallallall    Axis &Axis &Axis &Axis &    Allies versions Allies versions Allies versions Allies versions except the Classic 2except the Classic 2except the Classic 2except the Classic 2ndndndnd    Ed. Game)Ed. Game)Ed. Game)Ed. Game)    
    
A: A: A: A: Submarines are considered warships but notSubmarines are considered warships but notSubmarines are considered warships but notSubmarines are considered warships but not    aaaa    “Surface Warships.” “Surface Warships.” “Surface Warships.” “Surface Warships.” UnUnUnUnlike other like other like other like other 
warships, a submarine warships, a submarine warships, a submarine warships, a submarine cancancancan    move through a sea zone that contains enemy units, either in move through a sea zone that contains enemy units, either in move through a sea zone that contains enemy units, either in move through a sea zone that contains enemy units, either in 
combat or noncombat movementcombat or noncombat movementcombat or noncombat movementcombat or noncombat movement. . . .     
    
However, if a submarine enters a sea zone containing an enemy However, if a submarine enters a sea zone containing an enemy However, if a submarine enters a sea zone containing an enemy However, if a submarine enters a sea zone containing an enemy destroyerdestroyerdestroyerdestroyer, it must end its , it must end its , it must end its , it must end its 
movement there. If it ends its combat move in a hostile sea zone, combat will occur.movement there. If it ends its combat move in a hostile sea zone, combat will occur.movement there. If it ends its combat move in a hostile sea zone, combat will occur.movement there. If it ends its combat move in a hostile sea zone, combat will occur.    
    
Subs Do Not Block Enemy MovementSubs Do Not Block Enemy MovementSubs Do Not Block Enemy MovementSubs Do Not Block Enemy Movement: The “stealth” ability of submarines also allows: The “stealth” ability of submarines also allows: The “stealth” ability of submarines also allows: The “stealth” ability of submarines also allows    
enemy ships to ignore their presence. Any sea zone that contains only enemy submarines enemy ships to ignore their presence. Any sea zone that contains only enemy submarines enemy ships to ignore their presence. Any sea zone that contains only enemy submarines enemy ships to ignore their presence. Any sea zone that contains only enemy submarines 
does not stop the movement of a sea unit. Sea units ending their combat movement in a sea does not stop the movement of a sea unit. Sea units ending their combat movement in a sea does not stop the movement of a sea unit. Sea units ending their combat movement in a sea does not stop the movement of a sea unit. Sea units ending their combat movement in a sea 
zone containing only enemy submarines may choose to attack them or not. Sea unzone containing only enemy submarines may choose to attack them or not. Sea unzone containing only enemy submarines may choose to attack them or not. Sea unzone containing only enemy submarines may choose to attack them or not. Sea units can its can its can its can 
also end their noncombat movement in a sea zone containing only enemy submarines. also end their noncombat movement in a sea zone containing only enemy submarines. also end their noncombat movement in a sea zone containing only enemy submarines. also end their noncombat movement in a sea zone containing only enemy submarines.     
    
Subs Cannot Hit Air UnitsSubs Cannot Hit Air UnitsSubs Cannot Hit Air UnitsSubs Cannot Hit Air Units: When attacking or defending, submarines cannot hit air units. : When attacking or defending, submarines cannot hit air units. : When attacking or defending, submarines cannot hit air units. : When attacking or defending, submarines cannot hit air units.     
    
Subs Cannot Be Hit by Air UnitsSubs Cannot Be Hit by Air UnitsSubs Cannot Be Hit by Air UnitsSubs Cannot Be Hit by Air Units: When attacking or defending, hits scored: When attacking or defending, hits scored: When attacking or defending, hits scored: When attacking or defending, hits scored    by air units by air units by air units by air units 
cannot be assigned to submarines unless there is a destroyer that is friendly to the air cannot be assigned to submarines unless there is a destroyer that is friendly to the air cannot be assigned to submarines unless there is a destroyer that is friendly to the air cannot be assigned to submarines unless there is a destroyer that is friendly to the air 
units in the battle.units in the battle.units in the battle.units in the battle.    
    
Subs have the Subs have the Subs have the Subs have the “First Shot Attack“First Shot Attack“First Shot Attack“First Shot Attack    or Surprise Strike” available to enemy units eveor Surprise Strike” available to enemy units eveor Surprise Strike” available to enemy units eveor Surprise Strike” available to enemy units every round ry round ry round ry round 
and is the first attackand is the first attackand is the first attackand is the first attack    each round.each round.each round.each round.        ThisThisThisThis    applies to BOTH Attacking & Defending Subs.applies to BOTH Attacking & Defending Subs.applies to BOTH Attacking & Defending Subs.applies to BOTH Attacking & Defending Subs.            
    
SubmersibleSubmersibleSubmersibleSubmersible: A submarine has the option of submerging. It can do this anytime it would : A submarine has the option of submerging. It can do this anytime it would : A submarine has the option of submerging. It can do this anytime it would : A submarine has the option of submerging. It can do this anytime it would 
otherwise make a Surprise Strike. The decision is made before any dice are rolled by either otherwise make a Surprise Strike. The decision is made before any dice are rolled by either otherwise make a Surprise Strike. The decision is made before any dice are rolled by either otherwise make a Surprise Strike. The decision is made before any dice are rolled by either 
side (the attacker decides side (the attacker decides side (the attacker decides side (the attacker decides first) and takes effect immediately. When a submarine first) and takes effect immediately. When a submarine first) and takes effect immediately. When a submarine first) and takes effect immediately. When a submarine 
submerges, it’s immediately removed from the battle strip and placed back on the map. submerges, it’s immediately removed from the battle strip and placed back on the map. submerges, it’s immediately removed from the battle strip and placed back on the map. submerges, it’s immediately removed from the battle strip and placed back on the map. 
However, a submarine cannot submerge if an enemy destroyer is present in the battle.However, a submarine cannot submerge if an enemy destroyer is present in the battle.However, a submarine cannot submerge if an enemy destroyer is present in the battle.However, a submarine cannot submerge if an enemy destroyer is present in the battle.    
    
Enemy DestoryersEnemy DestoryersEnemy DestoryersEnemy Destoryers::::    negate negate negate negate allallallall    sssspecial Sub abilities while present in the same sea zone.pecial Sub abilities while present in the same sea zone.pecial Sub abilities while present in the same sea zone.pecial Sub abilities while present in the same sea zone.    
    
Classic 2Classic 2Classic 2Classic 2ndndndnd    Ed. SubsEd. SubsEd. SubsEd. Subs: none of the rules above for Subs apply in this version accept the : none of the rules above for Subs apply in this version accept the : none of the rules above for Subs apply in this version accept the : none of the rules above for Subs apply in this version accept the 
ability for their “Deadly First Shot Attack” at the beginning of every round and their ability for their “Deadly First Shot Attack” at the beginning of every round and their ability for their “Deadly First Shot Attack” at the beginning of every round and their ability for their “Deadly First Shot Attack” at the beginning of every round and their 
ability to NOT attack ability to NOT attack ability to NOT attack ability to NOT attack air units.  In this version subs may only “Withdraw” and not air units.  In this version subs may only “Withdraw” and not air units.  In this version subs may only “Withdraw” and not air units.  In this version subs may only “Withdraw” and not 
submerge, and are accessible to air attack for 1 round of combat. They are also submerge, and are accessible to air attack for 1 round of combat. They are also submerge, and are accessible to air attack for 1 round of combat. They are also submerge, and are accessible to air attack for 1 round of combat. They are also 
considered warships and may block enemy movement just like all other ships.considered warships and may block enemy movement just like all other ships.considered warships and may block enemy movement just like all other ships.considered warships and may block enemy movement just like all other ships.    


